SWCOLT Conference Deadline Approaching

November 14th, 2013 | Posted by jtparry in professional development

The deadline for submitting a proposal to this conference is fast approaching (11/15)! See details below:

Southwest Conference on Language Teaching
2014 Conference at Snowbird Resort, Utah – April 24–26
Deadline to Submit a Proposal Approaching – November 15, 2013

Reaching New Heights Through Proficiency

SWCOLT/UFLA Accepting Session Proposals for 2014 Conference
Visit our site for the proposal form and more information about the conference: http://www.swcolt.org/#!conference/c1o4a

SWCOLT is currently accepting Session Proposals for our 2014 regional conference. The Utah Foreign Language Association is hosting the conference with us at the beautiful Cliff Lodge in the Wasatch Mountains near Salt Lake City.

The theme of the conference is “Reaching New Heights Through Proficiency”. We encourage proposals that reflect the principal strands of the program:

  •  Teaching to Proficiency
  •  Teaching in the Target Language
  •  Dual Immersion Teaching Strategies
  •  Content-based Teaching
  •  Comprehensible Input Strategies
  •  Connecting to the Common Core
  •  Embedding Culture in the Curriculum
  •  Engaging Students in the WL Classroom
  •  Technology in the WL Classroom

You may submit proposals for a 60-minute session, and/or a 10-minute One Idea presentation.

The deadline for submitting a proposal for SWCOLT 2014 in Snowbird, Utah is November 15, 2013.

Half-day and full day workshops will be Thursday, April 24, 2014.
60-minute sessions and 10-minute One Idea Presentations will be on Friday, April 25 and Saturday, April 26, 2014.

Excellence in Classroom Teaching Awards

Visit our site to nominate a teacher to receive an award at the SWCOLT 2014 conference in Utah:

The Excellence in Classroom Teaching Award recognizes outstanding teachers of Languages Other Than English.  One individual may be recognized at each of the following levels:  elementary, secondary, and post-secondary. Any teacher residing in the nine state SWCOLT area can nominate or apply.

The Friend of the Profession Award recognizes an individual or organization not directly involved in the teaching of second languages that has made a significant contribution to the profession. Any teacher residing in the SWCOLT region may nominate/apply.

Honorary Lifetime Memberships are awarded to members who have made significant contributions to SWCOLT and to the language teaching profession.  Any teacher residing in the SWCOLT region may nominate/apply.

SWCOLT Teacher Scholarships Available 2014
Visit our site to apply for a scholarship:

The Centro MundoLengua Scholarship offers a wonderful opportunity for a high school Spanish AP Teacher to participate in Centro MundoLengua’s AP Summer Institute for Teachers in Sevilla, Spain, from June 22 to July 5, 2014. The scholarship includes tuition, room and board with a Spanish family (an individual room), course materials, completion certificate, cultural activities in Sevilla, and a welcome breakfast and farewell dinner.

The Universidad Internacional-The Center for Linguistic Multicultural Studies Scholarship offers a two-week opportunity to study language and culture in Cuernavaca, Mexico anytime in 2014. The scholarship includes registration and two weeks of course work. Transportation and lodging expenses are not included.

The Cemanáhauc Educational Community Scholarship offers Spanish language classes and intensive study of the arts and history of Mexico in an atmosphere of total immersion in the language and culture in colonial Cuernavaca, México. It is designed for a K-16 Spanish teacher who has had few previous opportunities to travel to Latin America, and who needs an opportunity to increase his/her oral fluency.

SWCOLT Board of Directors
Bonnie Flint (UT), President
Joyce Pitt (OK), Past-President
Judy Cale (CO), Program Chair, President-Elect
Natalie Figueroa (NM), Vice-President
Jocelyn Raught (AZ), ACTFL Representative
Paula Hirsch (CA), Evaluations
T. J. Troche (NV), Awards and Scholarships
Lynette Fujimori (HI) Teacher of the Year Program
Arron Wheeler (UT) Local Arrangements Chair
Mike Wood (UT), Newsletter Editor
Jody Klopp, Executive Director

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 Both comments and pings are currently closed.